Happy families (a poem)

IMG_0363

I read about The Simpson’s 25th anniversary during one of our visits to the dentist in the city (250 km away.) Like so many articles nowadays, the write-up looked at the show’s history and impact throughout its 25 years of existence. Reading it made me ponder the appeal of a dysfunctional family as entertainment and pushed me to think about why happy families repel and attract me so at the same time.

Happy families make me cry
For then I wonder why
The sun continues to shine
On them and what
I’m doing wrong with mine.

Happy families make me glad
Because they’re not a fad
They bless and give and even teach
Me to change
Bad habits without a single preach!

IMG_0364

Leave a Reply

