Writing 201: Poetry (Day 5: Elegy)

To my unborn child:

Sam’s a dream. No, he’s not.
He’s the child I once forgot.
Girl or boy I never knew –
You were suctioned by a crew.
Never felt any cuddles from you;
But then, what could I do?
‘Twas a virgin at seventeen
When lovemaking was still a sin.
Starlight struck, ain’t struggle to forget
Running from home, no time for regret:
Alive, alive to be simply Me,
Naive, young and damn carefree.
When you’re young, life’s a stage.
When you’re old, there’s only closed baggage.

Once before, the road was endless.
Now no more, every trail ends in a mess.
Then my heart was etched in stone.
Now I’m rheumatic and all alone.
Bastard boyfriends in the junkyard
Hurled henceforth with all wild cards.

So I mourn as only mothers can
For those seeds that never got to be men …
Stinking melody, this dull heartache
That comes with each daybreak.

Gray in years, awash with fears …
Sam, my dear, would you care to love

A broken broad chasing Him above?
There’s no choice, I hear your voice –
Come, my baby, let’s go back to Troy!

Sam, my child, will you forgive
An aged grizzly torn by grief?
Tell me, please, it’s not too late;
Meet me now at heaven’s gate.

Note: The writing prompt for Day 5 is to write about fog using a metaphor and the elegiac format.

Update: Serendipity or not? The Secret Shame of Abortion in the Church is a Christianity Today article on the dilemma faced by Christians who have had an abortion and who lived to regret it.  

5 thoughts on “Writing 201: Poetry (Day 5: Elegy)

  1. 😢
    I’m thankful that:

    “If in this life only we have hope in Christ, we are of all men most miserable.” (‭1 Corinthians‬ ‭15‬:‭19‬ KJV)

    And:

    “Thou hast turned for me my mourning into dancing: thou hast put off my sackcloth, and girded me with gladness;” (‭Psalms‬ ‭30‬:‭11‬ KJV)

    Like

  2. First of all I want to say great blog! I had
    a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your head prior
    to writing. I’ve had difficulty clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out.
    I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted just trying
    to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Many thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

